First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. (Katie) Arrington Gary E. Clary Chandra E. Dillard MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Robert L. Ridgeway, III Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Bruce W. Bannister William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal Collins Raye Felder William M. "Bill" Hixon Mandy Powers Norrell J. Todd Rutherford Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Kendra H. Wilkerson Fiscal/Research Analyst

November 17, 2017

Mac Burdette, Executive Director Patriots Point Development Authority 40 Patriots Road Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina 29464

Dear Executive Director Burdette:

On behalf of the Education and Cultural Subcommittee, thank you, and your staff for your recent presentation to the Subcommittee relating to Patriots Point's history, programming, and planning. In preparation for our next meeting, please respond to the following by December 1, 2017:

- Please provide the agency's records management policy. If required, is Patriots Point current in transferring records to the Department of Archives and History?
- Is there a transition or succession plan in place for the Executive Director position and other deputy-level agency leaders?
- What statutory and regulatory limitations need to be removed, added, or corrected, in order for the Authority to successfully implement its long term goals?
- Please provide the executive summary of the most recent external audit.
- Provide a compilation of grants received, by fiscal year that includes the grantor, amount, and any limitations on use of the funds.
- For the last five fiscal years, provide the revenue gained from each of the revenue streams described during the November 6, 2017, meeting.

If these questions would yield responses that are not an accurate reflection of the agency or if additional time is needed to respond, please contact Committee staff. The Subcommittee looks forward to our next meeting on December 5, 2017, at

10:00 a.m., in Room 321. Thank you for your service to the citizens of South Carolina and for your continued cooperation with the legislative oversight process.

Mr. Burdette, Page Two

Sincerely,

Joseph H. Jefferson Subcommittee Chair

cc: The Honorable Chandra Dillard The Honorable Raye Felder The Honorable Tommy M. Stringer